Schließen
Menü

Moselsteig trail

Hike the Moselsteig long-distance trail in 24 stages


Distances between 11 and 24 kilometers, difficulties varying between low and high, and trails leading you through forests, vineyards, or typical wine villages – the stages of the Moselsteig trail are diverse and rich in variety. This means that there is something for every hiker's preference and fitness level.
 

Stage 1: Perl – Palzem, Length: 24 km / Stage 2: Palzem – Nittel, Length: 16.5 km / Stage 3: Nittel – Konz, Length: 22.5 km /

Stage 4: Konz – Trier, Length: 21 km / Stage 5: Trier – Schweich, Length: 19.5 km / Stage 6: Schweich – Mehring, Length: 12.5 km /

Stage 7: Mehring – Leiwen, Length: 14.5 km / Stage 8: Leiwen – Neumagen-Dhron, Length: 14 km /

Stage 9: Neumagen-Dhron – Kesten/Osann-Monzel, Length: 18 km / Stage 10: Kesten/Osann-Monzel – Bernkastel-Kues, Length: 15 km /

Stage 11: Bernkastel-Kues – Ürzig, Length: 17.5 km / Stage 12: Ürzig – Traben-Trarbach, Length: 15 km /

Stage 13: Traben-Trarbach – Reil, Length: 15 km / Stage 14: Reil – Zell (Moselle), Length: 12.5 km /

Stage 15: Zell (Moselle) – Neef, Length: 20 km / Stage 16: Neef – Ediger-Eller, Length: 11 km / Stage 17: Ediger-Eller– Beilstein, Length: 16 km/

Stage 18: Beilstein – Cochem, Length: 14 km




Stage 19:

Cochem – Treis-Karden Length: 24 km Moselsteig Duration: 7,5 hours    Difficulty: high

An excursion through time and space

This hike will expose you to the varying landscapes of the Moselsteig – you can make a worthwhile detour to a rustling cascade in the nature reserve, Dortebachtal, with its seemingly exotic regional climate, or stop for a quick bite or drink in one of the many venues you will find in the idyllic wine villages along the way. Directly on the Moselsteig trail, the archeology park, Martberg, takes you back in time with its reconstructed buildings depicting the ancient Celtic-Roman mountain sanctuary. This stage also has a lot to offer in terms of its landscape – the trail leads you along creek valleys, through gorgeous high forests and vineyards until you eventually reach the next section of the trail, Treis-Karden.




Stage 20:

Treis-Karden – Moselkern Length: 13 km Moselsteig Duration: 4 hours    Difficulty: high


From the cathedral to the castle 

This stage begins with some culture and history: after hiking past the Moseldom – the diocese's curia St. Castor in Treis-Karden – the trail leads you on a short but steep stretch into nature, where an abundance of wild box trees surprise many hikers. This is followed by challenging trails along the slope's edge and through steep vineyards, providing a view of the wild gorges of the Krailbach creek. Further down the trail, a special highlight awaits the hiker: Eltz Castle, a cultural landmark and emblematic monument of German history. Its hidden location in the Elzbach valley prevented it from being destroyed during the Thirty Years' War and the Palatinate War of Succession. A stop at this authentic castle, with its treasure chamber and armory, well-loaded with jewelry, weapons, and porcelain, will be worth your while. After this cultural stop, the path leads you along the Elzbach creek to the wine village, Moselkern.




Stage 21:

Moselkern – Löf    Length: 14 km    Duration: 4 hours    Difficulty: high


High altitudes and low valleys

The beginning of this stage of the hike, between Moselkern and Löf, is physically demanding; The trail will first lead you on a steep pathway through the vineyards. Following this, the trail will run along the slope's edge and hikers are rewarded with magnificent views. The view point "Küppchen" offers a fantastic view of the Moselle, Baybach valleys, and the nearby Bischofsstein Castle. Hang-gliders and paragliders take off here, which is jaw-dropping to watch. From this point forward, the beautiful trail, Hatzenporter Laysteig, runs parallel to the Moselsteig; both tracks first lead downhill to Hatzenport and then up to Rabenlay, where you will find a mountain hut and a picnic area. After a short distance, the Moselsteig parts with the trail, and the Moselsteig leads downhill through thick forests of box trees and the Kehrbach valley into Löf, the next stage.

 



Stage 22:

Löf – Kobern-Gondorf    Length: 14 km    Duration: 4,5 hours    Difficulty: high


Of plateaus and forest elephants 

A journey through time is what to expect during this stage. This stage begins in Löf and will lead you all the way to Kobern-Gondorf, through Alken. First, you will encounter one of the oldest castles in the Moselle country: Thurant Castle from the 12th century, which offers gorgeous views of the valley. Then, the trail becomes more challenging and you will climb uphill through vineyards on the "Sieben-Fußfälle-Kreuzweg" ("Seven Prostrations Way of the Cross") until you reach the Bleidenberg mountain plateau. Breath-taking views are in store for you when you walk around the plateau through the beautiful trail along the slope's edge. You will be surprised by the glimpse you will get into the primeval past of the region. You will be amazed by the vivid reconstruction of the campsite of a primeval Homo erectus accompanied by a mighty iron sculpture of a forest elephant. The end of this stage comprises of two well-known viewing points – the Hitzlay and the Mönch-Felix shack. Finally, the Moselsteig trail becomes steep and winding and ends in the Aspelerbach Valley. From here, you will be led to Kobern-Gondorf via the Moselgoldbrücke ("Moselle Gold Bridge")




Stage 23:  

Kobern-Gondorf – Winningen    
Length: 14 km    Duration: 4,5 hours    
Difficulty: high


On the trails of the Tatzel Worm's myth

This stage will lead you through the Mühlental valley directly into the realm of the Tatzel Worm, a legendary, mythical creature, said to be living in the nearby forests. You will hike through age-old vineyards, passing by the Niederburg Castle, and shortly after, the ruins of the Oberburg Castle and the late-Roman Matthias Chapel. This chapel was built during the 13th century in honor of a relic of the apostle, Mathew. The steep trail leads through the forest, where you will encounter the mythical trails of the Tatzel Worm. Follow the ascent up the serpentine path and you will be rewarded with a fantastic panorama of the Moselle. The trail continues through a forest until you get a first glimpse of Coblenz's suburbs, the city which serves as the end – or start – of the Moselsteig trail. For now, the view of the terraces of the steep slope, Winninger Uhlen, heralds your imminent arrival at the wine village of Winningen.




Stage 24:

Winningen – Koblenz    Length: 15 km    Duration: 4 hours    Difficulty: medium


At the end. At the start. At the Moselsteig 

The final stage leads mainly along vineyards over the Hexenhügel ("the Witches' Hill"), where a memorial commemorates the medieval burning of witches. The panoramic trail, lush with green meadows and countless fruit trees, brings you to Coblenz. An access path runs along the train tracks, passing by the Old Castle, all the way to the city's landmark, the "Deutsches Eck" ("German Corner"). At this location, which is extremely popular in summer, the Moselle joins the Rhine. To round off a perfect hiking trip, you can ride the gondola up to the impressive Ehrenbreitstein Fortress, visit the colorful site of the onetime BUGA ("National Garden Fair"), or go on a boat tour.

Home
Hotel video
About us
At a glance
Ratings
Rooms & Rates
Rooms & Rates
Room Classic
Room with ba...
Room facing ...
Rose Suite
Champagne Su...
Romeo & Juli...
Price details
Packages
Packages
Hikers
Active trave...
Aficionado
Romantics
Christmas & New Year's Eve
Wining and dining
Wining and d...
Event Calend...
Lomo Restaur...
RebLaus Wine...
Luis Bar
Summer Terra...
Churrasco
Breakfast
Celebrations
Meetings & Conferences
Conference R...
Conference f...
Prices
Supporting p...
Room rent
Beauty & Relaxation
Beauty & rel...
Indoor swimm...
Fitness room...
Beauty care ...
Culture & Leisure
Culture & Le...
Castles & Pa...
Museums
Water Advent...
Theme parks ...
Toolbar
Newsletter
Site notice
Weather repo...
Corporate pa...
Terms & Cond...
Route
EN
DE
Hiking
Hiking
Surreal Hiki...
Wine-hiking ...
Moselsteig t...
Motorbike
Born to be W...
Tourentipps

Schließen
Menü

Moselsteig

Den Moselsteig auf 24 Etappen erwandern


Mit Längen zwischen 11 und 24 Kilometern, Schwierigkeitsgraden von leicht bis schwer und Wegeführungen durch Wald, Weinberge oder durch typische Weinorte sind die Etappen des Moselsteigs unterschiedlich geprägt und sehr abwechslungsreich – so ist für jede Wandervorliebe und jedes Anforderungsprofil etwas dabei.

Etappe 01: Perl – Palzem Länge: 24 km /  Etappe 02: Palzem – Nittel Länge: 16,5 km / Etappe 03: Nittel – Konz Länge: 22,5 km /

Etappe 04: Konz – Trier Länge: 21 km / Etappe 05: Trier – Schweich Länge: 19,5 km / Etappe 06: Schweich – Mehring Länge: 12,5 km /

Etappe 07: Mehring – Leiwen Länge: 14,5 km / Etappe 08: Leiwen – Neumagen-Dhron Länge: 14 km / 

Etappe 09: Neumagen-Dhron – Kesten/Osann-Monzel Länge: 18 km /  Etappe 10: Kesten/Osann-Monzel – Bernkastel-Kues Länge: 15 km /

Etappe 11: Bernkastel-Kues – Ürzig Länge: 17,5 km / Etappe 12: Ürzig – Traben-Trarbach Länge: 15 km /

Etappe 13: Traben-Trarbach – Reil Länge: 15 km / Etappe 14: Reil – Zell (Mosel) Länge: 12,5 km /

Etappe 15: Zell (Mosel) – Neef Länge: 20 km / Etappe 16: Neef – Ediger-Eller Länge: 11 km / Etappe 17: Ediger-Eller– Beilstein Länge: 16 km/ 

Etappe 18: Beilstein – Cochem Länge: 14 km 




Etappe 19:

Cochem – Treis-Karden Länge: 24 km Moselsteig Dauer: 7,5 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: schwer

Abstecher in Zeit und Raum.

Hier zeigt sich der Moselsteig sehr variantenreich, bietet er doch lohnenswerte Abstecher, z. B. zu einem rauschenden Wasserfall im Naturschutzgebiet Dortebachtal mit seinem exotischen anmutenden Kleinklima oder zu einem der vielen Einkehrmöglichkeiten in den idyllischen Weinorten entlang des Weges. Direkt auf dem Moselsteig hingegen lädt der Archäologie-Park Martberg zu einer Zeitreise in die originalgetreu rekonstruierten Gebäude des ehemaligen keltisch-römischen Bergheiligtums ein. Aber auch landschaftlich hat  diese Etappe viel zu bieten; der Weg führt durch wunderschönen Hochwald, durch Weinberge und an Bachtälern entlang, bis schließlich das Etappenziel Treis-Karden erreicht wird.




Etappe 20:

Treis-Karden – Moselkern Länge: 13 km Moselsteig Dauer: 4 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: schwer


Vom Dom zur Burg. 

Eine Etappe, die mit Kultur und Geschichte startet: Vorbei am Moseldom – der Stiftskurie St. Castor in Treis-Karden – führt der Steig auf kurzem, aber steilem Weg rein in die Natur, die hier mit wilden Buchsbaumbeständen Ungewöhnliches zu bieten hat. Es folgen anspruchsvolle Passagen entlang der Hangkante und in steilen Weinbergen, mit Blick in die Wilde Schlucht des Krailsbachs. Als besonderen Höhepunkt erwartet den Wanderer die Burg Eltz – eines der Wahrzeichen deutscher Geschichte. Sie liegt versteckt im Elzbachtal und entging so den Zerstörungen des Dreißigjährigen Krieges und der Pfälzischen Erbfolgekriege. Ein Abstecher zur Besichtigung der original eingerichteten Burg und der mit Schmuck, Waffen und Porzellan wohlbestückten Schatz- und Rüstkammer ist ein lohnenswerter Ausflug. Nach diesem Erlebnis geht es entlang des Elzbaches zum Weinort Moselkern.




Etappe 21:

Moselkern – Löf    Länge: 14 km    Dauer: 4 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: schwer


Hoch hinaus und tief ins Tal. 

Sportlich beginnt die Etappe zwischen Moselkern und Löf: Zunächst führt der Weg auf einem steilen Pfad durch die Weinberge – um dann den Wanderer auf dem folgenden Hangkantenweg mit herrlichen Ausblicken zu belohnen: Der Aussichtspunkt „Küppchen“ bietet hier einen fantastischen Blick auf das Mosel- und Baybachtal und die nahe gelegene Burg Bischofsstein. Beeindruckend auch, wenn sich hier die Gleitschirm- und Drachenflieger in die Lüfte erheben. Die Trasse des Traumpfades Hatzenporter Laysteig läuft von nun an parallel zum Mostelsteig – gemeinsam geht es abwärts nach Hatzenport, um anschließend zur Rabenlay mit Schutzhütte und Rastplatz anzusteigen. Kurz darauf trennt sich der Moselsteig wieder vom Traumpfad und führt bergab durch dichten Buchsbaumbestand und das Kehrbachtal in den Etappenort Löf.





Etappe 22:

Löf – Kobern-Gondorf    Länge: 14 km    Dauer: 4,5 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: schwer


Von Plateaus und Wald-Elefanten. 

Eine Reise durch die Zeit verspricht diese Etappe, die in Löf startet und über Alken bis nach Kobern-Gondorf führt. Zu Beginn geht es zu einer der ältesten Burgen des Mosellands, der Burg Thurant aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, von der aus sich wunderbare Blicke talwärts ergeben. Anspruchsvoll führt der Weg über den „Sieben-Fußfälle-Kreuzweg“ durch die Weinberge bergan, bis das Plateau des Bleidenbergs erreicht ist. Es wird auf einem wunderschönen Hangkantenweg umrundet und bietet dabei eine atemberaubende Aussicht. Überraschend dann der Einblick in die urzeitliche Vergangenheit der Region: Kaum jemand, den die anschauliche Rekonstruktion des Lagerplatzes des Homo erectus mit der mächtigen eisernen Skulptur eines Wald-Elefanten nicht begeistern würde. Abgerundet wird diese Etappe durch zwei weithin bekannte Aussichtspunkte – die Hitzlay und die Mönch-Felix-Hütte. Schließlich mündet der Moselsteig als steiler Serpentinenweg ins Aspelerbachtal und von dort über die Moselgoldbrücke nach Kobern-Gondorf.





Etappe 23:  

Kobern-Gondorf – Winningen    
Länge: 14 km    Dauer: 4,5 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: schwer


Dem Geheimnis des Tatzelwurms auf der Spur.

Diese Etappe führt durch das Mühlental direkt in das Reich des Tatzelwurms, eines sagenumwobenen Fabeltiers, das hier in den Wäldern leben soll. Durch uralte Weinberge wandernd werden die Niederburg, kurz darauf die Ruine der Oberburg und die spätromanische Matthiaskapelle erreicht. Diese wurde im 13. Jahrhundert zu Ehren einer Reliquie des Apostels Matthias erbaut. Steil durch den Wald führt der Weg, begleitet von geheimnisvollen Spuren des Tatzelwurms. Der erneute Aufstieg über einen Serpentinenpfad wird mit einem fantastischen Moselpanorama belohnt. Weiter geht es durch den Wald, bis der Blick bald schon auf die Vororte von Koblenz, dem Ziel – oder dem Start – des Moselsteigs reicht. Der Blick auf die Terrassen der Steillage Winninger Uhlen kündigt jedoch erst einmal die baldige Ankunft im Weinort Winningen an.





Etappe 24:

Winningen – Koblenz    Länge: 15 km    Dauer: 4 Stunden    Schwierigkeit: mittel


Am Ziel. Am Start. Am Moselsteig. 

Die Zieletappe führt überwiegend durch Weinberge entlang über den Hexenhügel, der mit einem Denkmal an die mittelalterlichen Hexenverbrennungen erinnert. Über den Panoramaweg mit grünen Wiesen und unzähligen Obstbäumen geht es nach Koblenz. Ein Zuweg verläuft entlang der Bahnstrecke und vorbei an der alten Burg hin zum Wahrzeichen der Stadt, dem Deutschen Eck. An diesem vor allem im Sommer beliebten Platz mündet die Mosel in den Rhein. Eine Seilbahnfahrt zur eindrucksvollen Festung Ehrenbreitstein, ein Besuch der farbenfrohen Anlagen des ehemaligen BUGA-Geländes oder eine ganz entspannte Schiffstour runden die Wanderung perfekt ab.

 
Home
Hotelvideo
Über uns
Auf einen Bl...
Serviceleitf...
Bewertungen
Zimmer & Preise
Zimmer & Pre...
Zimmer Class...
Zimmer mit B...
Zimmer mit M...
Rosensuite
Champagnersu...
Romeo & Juli...
Preisdetails
Arrangements
Arrangement
Wanderer
Aktive
Geniesser
Romantiker
Weihnachten & Silvester
Gastronomie
Gastronomie
Eventkalender
Restaurant &...
Weinstube &q...
Bar "Lu...
Sommerterras...
Churrasco
Frühst&...
Feiern
Tagungen & Seminare
Lehrerzimmer
Tagungspausc...
Preise
Rahmenprogra...
Raummiete
Beauty & Relax
Beauty & Rel...
Hallenbad & ...
Fitnessraum ...
Kosmetik L&a...
Kultur & Freizeit
Kultur & Fre...
Burgen & Sch...
Museen
Erlebnis Was...
Freizeitpark...
Toolbar
Newsletter
Impressum
Wetter
Partner
AGBs
Anfahrt
Stellenangeb...
EN
DE
Wandern
Wandern
Traumpfade
Wein-Wanderw...
Moselsteig
Motorrad
Born to be W...
Tourentipps